How To Lead A Stress Free Life:

As I began my new vegan adventure this week, I started to think about all the other areas of my life that require a ‘makeover’.
Last year brought along great change, and this was evident in my friendships, relationships, finances and career; honestly, every aspect of my life was stirred.
However, change is eminent in personal growth, in order for us to reach our full potential in life, we are going to face a few challenges.
One thing I have become accustomed to is improving my approach to change. I’m quite optimistic, I tend to not worry about the things I cannot change, instead, I shift my focus to what I can change. This creates time to focus on the things that actually matter. For example, I cannot change someone’s attitude, but I can adjust the amount of time I spend with that individual.

Here are 10 steps you can to take to live a stress-free life:

1. Keep a positive attitude.
2. Accept that there are situations that you cannot control.
3. Be assertive rather than aggressive. Cite your feelings instead of becoming angry, defensive or passive.
4. Learn some relaxation techniques; try meditation, breathing exercises or yoga  – which are also great ways of meeting new people.
5. Eat healthily.
6. Learn to manage your time more effectively.
7. Since we’re on the subject of time, take some moments away for yourself, before you reach your breaking point. It’s important to take time out to nurture yourself, this will aid in building inner strength and emotional healing.
8. Don’t rely on others to take your stress away. Happiness starts with you, not your relationships. If you associate your joy with someone be prepared to be let down.
9. Identify the causes of stress. Try to identify what’s causing these symptoms. Once you identify the source of your issues, try to minimise these as much as possible.
10. Talk it out. Talk to a friend, family member or therapist to alleviate your stress. Remember, a problem shared is a problem halved.

This year, I decided to adopt a new method of problem solving, it’s quite simple: If it’s not going to matter 5 years from now, I will not give it more than 5 minutes of my time. I must say this has saved a hell of a lot of stress, and it has changed the way I view life. I’m more relaxed, and I have time to actually focus on the more important things. 

Happiness depends upon ourselves – Aristotle

Leave a comment